This is a brief list of news resources to get you started, make sure you check out your own subject guide to find out which are most useful for your studies.
Contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society. We have access to:
British Library Newspapers, Part III: 1741-1950
British Library Newspapers, Part IV: 1732-1950
British Library Newspapers, Part V: 1746-1950
British Library Newspapers, Part VI: Ireland,1783-1950
Senate House Library offers access to parts I and II
A collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including:
Archives Unbound
Daily Mail Historical Archive
The Economist Historical Archive
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Series 2, Empire)
Political Extremism and Radicalism
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Content coverage is from 1791 to 2003.
This link opens in a new windowFully searchable full text of 200 years of articles from The Times newspaper, from 1785-2019.
Online archive of the TLS. As well as literature, the paper includes reviews of theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions.
Access is via Gale Primary Sources.
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
