Subject Guides: Postgraduate Researchers: Senate House Resources

Senate House Library, the central University of London Library, is an important resource for additional e-journals, online databases and research materials, especially for the Arts and Humanities, and Psychology.

Register online to use Senate House Library e-resources or visit them in person to use their print collections.

Royal Holloway students and staff can become members and apply for a library card free of charge, just visit Senate House Library and take along your Royal Holloway ID card (showing a valid expiry date). This enables access to the print and electronic resources of the Senate House Library.

You can also register online for access to their electronic resources. We have two guides which will show you how to gain access to Senate House's e-resources.

Guide to accessing e-journals via Senate House

Guide to accessing databases via Senate House

Resources from Senate House

To access these resources you must be registered with Senate House

ABI Inform Global (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Global contains journals, company profiles and case studies covering business, economics and government policy. You will also find trade journals and dissertations as well as the Economist in this resource.
ABI Inform Help Pages
Academic Search Complete (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database covering topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
Help for Academic Search Complete
America: History and Life (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A complete bibliographical reference to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenschaft (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An international Bibliography of German Literature and Literary Studies.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index of bibliographic information on journal articles and books on British and Irish history since 1900. In addition to the publications, the Bibliography provides links to help you find the items that it lists in research libraries.
Help pack for students and lecturers
Deutsche Nationalbibliografie This link opens in a new window
This database includes monographs, periodicals, maps and atlases, music scores and sound recordings, theses and dissertations dating back to 1913 Also, the database contains the holdings of the German Music Archive since 1976 and the archives of the German exile archive 1933-1945.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliography on Latin America consisting of over 5000 works selected and annotated by 130 scholars.
Historical Abstracts (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. It provides indexing to more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
In Principio (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering Latin literature from its origins to the Renaissance. A multilingual research tool for scholars interested in the writers, texts and manuscripts of Antiquity, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
IngentaConnect (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IngentaConnect in an interdisciplinary collection of academic and professional research articles. Subjects covered include science, technology, social sciences and management.
International Index of Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database for the arts and entertainment industry, providing full text articles from over 80 serials, and indexes from more than 240 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, as well as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events.
International Index to Music Periodicals (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A music journal resource with over 900,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts from 1874 to the present.
International Medieval Bibliography (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Areas of interest to medievalists include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Arabic and Islamic Studies, Music, and Theatre.
Library of Latin Texts - Series A (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The LLT-A contains a diverse range of Latin works from Antiquity, the Church Fathers, the medieval period and the modern period.
Library of Latin Texts - Series B (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includse genres as varied as chronicles, medieval saints' lives and travel narratives, legal texts, and theological, philosophical and scientific treatises from the early-modern period.
Making of the Modern World (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature on economics and business published from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century from the collections of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School.
PRISMA: Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of many scholarly journals (104 as of Sept. 2007) in the social sciences and humanities for the study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Articles are in English, Spanish and Portuguese and cover all aspects of Hispanic studies, from research on indigenous cultures past and present to economics, history, literature, political science and sociology.
Philosopher's Index (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic index of more than 622 current journals from over 40 countries, as well as books and journals from 1940 onwards. Topics include aesthetics, philosophy of education, ethics, philosophy of language, logic, political philosophy, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This reference resource covers Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. Also includes over 25,000 links to other relevant websites.