As part of the session on 21st February 2024, you will be getting to try out some of these different databases! You will test them out, work out what is great and not so great about them, then write a dating profile for them! Below are the template dating profiles for you to complete in groups as part of this task! I will also provide paper copies in the session.
This page outlines what resources the library has to help you find company and industry information to include in your consultancy report for your client.
Resources are listed below in a short menu that gives a brief snapshot of what information that resource contains.
Top resources for finding case studies, company and industry information.
This link opens in a new windowABI/INFORM Global contains journals, company profiles and case studies covering business, economics and government policy. You will also find trade journals and dissertations as well as the Economist in this resource.
ABI Inform Help Pages
Business Source Complete (sometimes known as Ebsco) is a key resource for all business and management students, it is also useful for anyone interested in finance, accounting or marketing. In this resource you will find many journal articles and trade magazines including Harvard Business Review and The Economist. You can also find company profiles, industry reports and country reports.
Help Pages on Business Source Complete
Explore the world's companies through expert analysis such as SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets and more.
Marketline gives access to market research and company analysis reports covering sectors including consumer goods, finance, food and drink and technology.
Help and Support pages from Marketline
A globally recognised market analysis resource, Mintel produces hundreds of unique reports into consumer markets every year. Each report provides an overview of a market's dynamics and prospects enabling you to create an informed marketing strategy.
We currently have access to the following UK sectors: Automotive; Technology; Brands; Retail; Lifestyle; Health & Wellbeing; Media; Leisure; Beauty
We also have access to 'Mintel Trends' which gives a more global perspective on a variety of sectors.
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
Statista provides data on over 80,000 topics covering agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. The content is geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, with a focus on current (not historical) statistics.
Data and analysis that measures the business environment of more than 180 countries and selected cities around the globe.
Data on more than 4000 infrastructure projects for 137 developing countries. Select the "Get Data" tab in the center of the page to view pre-defined reports or build custom reports by country and sector.
Data and analysis on railway & private concessions and private participation in transport infrastructure. Also provides access to the Logisitics Performance Index which monitors the trade logistics performance of countries around the globe.
Data on household consumption patterns in developing countries. Select data by country and sector.
Thematic reports published annually by the United Nations Development Progrramme (UNDP). Recent themes have included; The Real Wealth of Nations, human mobility and development, climate change, and the global water crisis. The site also provides access to thematic regional reports.
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development contains all books, papers and journals by the OECD.
