Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In this section of the Library's Moodle space you will find resources and activities to help you develop your information searching skills.
Accessing other libraries
Through this link you will find more information about accessing Senate House's physical and online resources, as well as information about accessing libraries at other institutions.
These are some useful resources for Geography but we have many more! You can see the full list of subject specific resources here or see our Library Resources A-Z for all the resources you have access to as a member of Royal Holloway.
data.gov.uk This link opens in a new window
Datasets available from all central government departments and a number of other public sector bodies and local authorities.
Digimap - Ordnance Survey This link opens in a new window
The Ordnance Survey collection contains a number of datasets ranging from small scale base maps, such as MiniScale®, to detailed large scale mapping including OS MasterMap®, which is the most detailed large scale vector dataset available from Ordnance Survey. Complete coverage of Great Britain is available for all the products in the collection and all products are updated throughout the year, as and when updates are received from Ordnance Survey.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
A collection of key geology journals put together by geological societies from across the world. A comprehensive resource for researchers in Earth Sciences.
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography This link opens in a new window
The International Encyclopedia of Human Geography provides an authoritative and comprehensive source of information on the discipline of human geography and related subject areas.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Geography This link opens in a new window
An annotated list of useful resources in Geography, covering textbooks, reference materials, and academic articles. A useful source for getting an overview of an area of research.
Lyell Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text journals and books published by the Geological Society of London.Contains 18,000 peer-reviewed articles and 260,000 pages of Earth science content.Full-text archives back to 1845.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary databases with access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, as well as over 3 million images.
Quick tips on searching JSTOR
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Subjects covered include cinema, cultural studies, drama, history, literature, mathematics, modern languages, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology.Most journals available online from 1995 or 1996 onwards
PDF guide to searching Project MUSE
Video Tutorials on using Project MUSE (YouTube)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A major collection of journals on science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
Accessing resources off campus
To access our resources off-campus, you can use Royal Holloway's VPN, which will simulate on-campus access.
If you are not using Royal Holloway's VPN, you may be asked for a login. In this instance you can use your College username and password (which you normally use to access Moodle).
More information on accessing e-resources can be found in our Accessing Eresources page.
BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education This link opens in a new window
BoB is a viewing and off-air recording and media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists and share them with others.
BoB is only available in the UK.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community.
To access the premium subscription, giving you full access to the content, you must register for an account using your Royal Holloway email address. Thereafter, you must log in using your Royal Holloway email address and the password you have created when registering directly with The Financial Times.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
OneFile News is a full-text international newspaper resource that allows users to quickly search and compare news articles published worldwide.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
A collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including:
Archives Unbound (trial)
British Library Newspapers,
Daily Mail Historical Archive,
The Economist Historical Archive,
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive,
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals,
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection,
The Times Digital Archive,
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from different news sources.
The link below will help you find Royal Holloway PhD theses, UK theses through British Library's EThOS service and theses and dissertations from other countries through ProQuest.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Over 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
A series of online research guides in a range of subjects including American Literature
, British and Irish Literature
, Cinema and Media Studies
, Environmental Science
, Victorian Literature
. Each guide contains a series of articles introducing key topics, and lists recommended readings about each topic.
Video User guide (YouTube)
Royal Holloway Library LibGuide by Royal Holloway Library is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.