Subject Guides: Law: Finding Subject Specific Information

Discover

In this section of the Library's Moodle space you will find resources and activities to help you develop your information searching skills.

Develop skills to help you search for information

Accessing other libraries

Through this link you will find more information about accessing Senate House's physical and online resources, as well as information about accessing libraries at other institutions.

Accessing other libraries

Recommended Resources

You can find a list of subject specific databases for Law on our Database A-Z.

Oxford Handbooks Online Law This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks in Law bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in Law
Oxford Law Trove This link opens in a new window
This eBook platform hosts a wide range of law textbooks published by Oxford University Press.

Eur-Lex: Access to European Union Law This link opens in a new window
EUR-Lex provides free access to the Official Journal of the European Union, EU law, EU case-law, preparatory documents, international agreements, EFTA documents and summaries of EU legislation.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
LexisLibrary is a large legal database which provides access to cases, legislation and journal articles. You can also access texts such as Blackstone's Criminal Practice and Halsbury's Laws of England. LexisLibrary mainly contains UK material, but there is some coverage of other jurisdictions (particularly Australia, United States and Canada); also there are some international materials, such as ICJ resources.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
This legal database contains case law, legislation and journal articles as well as some practitioner texts.

Accessing resources off campus

To access our resources off-campus, you can use Royal Holloway's VPN, which will simulate on-campus access.

If you are not using Royal Holloway's VPN, you may be asked for a login. In this instance you can use your College username and password (which you normally use to access Moodle).

More information on accessing e-resources can be found in our Accessing Eresources page.

General resources

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education This link opens in a new window
BoB is a viewing and off-air recording and media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists and share them with others.
BoB is only available in the UK.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films, documentaries and educational videos.

Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
OneFile News is a full-text international newspaper resource that allows users to quickly search and compare news articles published worldwide.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
A collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including:
Archives Unbound
Daily Mail Historical Archive,
The Economist Historical Archive,
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive,
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Series 2, Empire),
Political Extremism and Radicalism,
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from different news sources.
Financial Times via Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community. This newspaper is available via Gale OneFile.

The link below will help you find Royal Holloway PhD theses, UK theses through British Library's EThOS service and theses and dissertations from other countries through ProQuest.

Accessing theses

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The online version of the OED including over 500,000 definitions, together with etymological analysis and variant spellings. Traces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present.
Video tutorial on using the Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford Reference Online (via Senate House Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
Full Text
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
A series of online research guides in a range of subjects including American Literature, British and Irish Literature, Cinema and Media Studies, Environmental Science, Victorian Literature,Geography, Classics and Philosophy. Each guide contains a series of articles introducing key topics, and lists recommended readings about each topic.
Video User guide (YouTube)