In this section of the Library's Moodle space you will find resources and activities to help you develop your information searching skills.
Through this link you will find more information about accessing Senate House's physical and online resources, as well as information about accessing libraries at other institutions.
The full text of all the English language titles in the Springer Computer Science collection published between 2005 and 2010.
A wide range of articles on technology and engineering including IEEE Journals, IEEE Conference Proceedings and ebooks.
Ebooks on developments in all areas of Computer Science and their applications.
The full text of all the English language titles in the Springer Mathematics & Statistics collection published between 2005 and 2010.
A database providing full text electronic access to books in IT and computing. It also has a number of case studies, online tutorials, recorded lectures and other visual materials for you to access.
To access this resource, you will need to use your Royal Holloway email address.
Instructions to access Safari Books Online
Full text of every article published in the journals, newsletters and conference proceedings of the Association for Computing Machinery. It also links to Special Interest Groups in the field of computing.
The AMS has published peer-reviewed journals in mathematical research for over 100 years. This resource is a searchable archive of the journals of the AMS. All back issues up to 2005 are freely available, and more recent articles from selected titles are also included.
This resource is an open access archive of scholarly articles in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Economics.
Cogprints is an electronic archive for self-archiving papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science, Philosophy, Biology and Medicine. It can be browsed by specific subjects.
A wide range of articles on technology and engineering including IEEE Journals, IEEE Conference Proceedings and ebooks.
Search and access the full text of all current British Standards and many equivalent international standards (e.g. ISOs/IECs).
BSOL have introduced new security features which will change the way you open PDFs on their platform. You now need to download the FileOpen plugin to access the standards.
Contains nearly three million images which are free to use for educational use.
To access our resources off-campus, you can use Royal Holloway's VPN, which will simulate on-campus access.
If you are not using Royal Holloway's VPN, you may be asked for a login. In this instance you can use your College username and password (which you normally use to access Moodle).
More information on accessing e-resources can be found in our Accessing Eresources page.
BoB is a viewing and off-air recording and media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists and share them with others.
BoB is only available in the UK.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films, documentaries and educational videos.
OneFile News is a full-text international newspaper resource that allows users to quickly search and compare news articles published worldwide.
A collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including:
Archives Unbound
Daily Mail Historical Archive
The Economist Historical Archive
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Series 2, Empire)
Political Extremism and Radicalism
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from different news sources.
The link below will help you find Royal Holloway PhD theses, UK theses through British Library's EThOS service and theses and dissertations from other countries through ProQuest.
The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.
The online version of the OED including over 500,000 definitions, together with etymological analysis and variant spellings. Traces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present.
Video tutorial on using the Oxford English Dictionary
This link opens in a new windowOver 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
A series of online research guides in a range of subjects including American Literature, British and Irish Literature, Cinema and Media Studies, Environmental Science, Victorian Literature,Geography, Classics and Philosophy. Each guide contains a series of articles introducing key topics, and lists recommended readings about each topic.
Video user guide (YouTube)
