The Discovering strand will help you develop the skills you need to find subject specific information easily. This is useful if you are reading to prepare for a lecture or seminar, need to find resources for research, or want to go beyond your reading list resources for an assignment. Here you will find resources covering: how to use LibrarySearch, how to build effective search terms, how to use Boolean operators, and citation searching in LibrarySearch and databases.
The Evaluating strand will help you develop the skills you need to critically evaluate information so you're able to select reliable and appropriate information in your research and assignments. These skills are useful for helping identify fake news and misinformation, poor quality research and unreliable information. Content includes: podcasts on misinformation and filter bubbles, understanding and applying a framework for critical evaluation, and how to select the most suitable type of resources for different situations.
These are some useful resources for Psychology, but we have many more! You can see the full list of subject specific resources here or see our Library Resources A-Z for all the resources you have access to as a member of Royal Holloway.
This link opens in a new windowThe gray literature indexed in PsycEXTRA makes it a preferred source of innovative reports, ground-breaking conference papers, developing ideas, and more recent research than what is typically found in journals and books. When combined with conventional research materials, users gain vital insight across the spectrum of the behavioral and social sciences. Users will discover the most current research findings from leading academic and research institutes, the military, foundations and other select organizations. Plus, because PsycEXTRA focuses on content that is outside of the peer-review system, it uncovers and indexes materials well before the research appears in published journals.
This link opens in a new windowThis ever-expanding collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations and scholarly literature abstracts offers a broad view of the field. With relevance to a host of related disciplines, including neuroscience, business, nursing, law and education, PsycINFO delivers the peer-reviewed content and abstracts students and researchers need, and does so with remarkable precision and a dedication to scholarly and scientific excellence. Focused on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioral and social science research and literature, PsycINFO is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
With more than 150,000 full text journal articles from nearly 80 key psychology journals, PsycARTICLES covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
An APA repository of information on thousands of psychological tests and measures, including many which are available for reuse.
A key resource for the biomedical and life sciences, PubMed supports the search and retrieval of literature. The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature.
A broad interdisciplinary indexing database, with a wide coverage of many subjects.
With more than 150,000 full text journal articles from nearly 80 key psychology journals, PsycARTICLES covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
A major collection of journals on science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
To access our resources off-campus, you can use Royal Holloway's VPN, which will simulate on-campus access.
If you are not using Royal Holloway's VPN, you may be asked for a login. In this instance you can use your College username and password (which you normally use to access Moodle).
More information on accessing e-resources can be found in our Accessing Eresources page.
BoB is a viewing and off-air recording and media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists and share them with others.
BoB is only available in the UK.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films, documentaries and educational videos.
OneFile News is a full-text international newspaper resource that allows users to quickly search and compare news articles published worldwide.
A collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including:
Archives Unbound
Daily Mail Historical Archive
The Economist Historical Archive
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Series 2, Empire)
Political Extremism and Radicalism
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from different news sources.
The link below will help you find Royal Holloway PhD theses, UK theses through British Library's EThOS service and theses and dissertations from other countries through ProQuest.
The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.
The online version of the OED including over 500,000 definitions, together with etymological analysis and variant spellings. Traces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present.
Video tutorial on using the Oxford English Dictionary
This link opens in a new windowOver 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
A series of online research guides in a range of subjects including American Literature, British and Irish Literature, Cinema and Media Studies, Environmental Science, Victorian Literature,Geography, Classics and Philosophy. Each guide contains a series of articles introducing key topics, and lists recommended readings about each topic.
Video user guide (YouTube)
Through this link you will find more information about accessing Senate House's physical and online resources, as well as information about accessing libraries at other institutions.
Our access to APA PsycInfo and APA PsycExtra is through Senate House Library. This pdf has instructions on how to set up your account and access these very useful resources.
