In this section of the Library's Moodle space you will find resources and activities to help you develop your information searching skills.
Through this link you will find more information about accessing Senate House's physical and online resources, as well as information about accessing libraries at other institutions.
You can find a selection of subject specific resources for Politics and International Relations on our Database A-Z.
Datasets available from all central government departments and a number of other public sector bodies and local authorities.
Europa.eu is the official website of the European Union. It is a good starting point if you are looking for information and services provided by the EU. This site gives you basic information on how the EU works, the latest EU news and events and links to EU information on the websites of EU institutions and agencies.
Hansard is the edited verbatim report of proceedings of both the House of Commons and the House of Lords. Daily Debates recorded in Hansard are published on this website the next working day by 6am.
Free online access to a full list of key UK government publications including Command Papers and House of Commons Papers, as well as Key Departmental Papers.
Government statistics published by the Office for National Statistics, covering a range of subjects including business, crime, the economy, education, government, health and population.
A multi-disciplinary databases with access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, as well as over 3 million images.
Quick tips on searching JSTOR
A major collection of journals on science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
An index of journal articles and book reviews across a range of subjects, with coverage from 1970.
Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including videos from BBC Worldwide Learning to thousands of podcasts and transcripts from CNN. It includes more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals (more than 8,000 in full text), and major reference sets including Gale Encyclopaedia of Science and Encyclopaedia of World Biography.
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
To access our resources off-campus, you can use Royal Holloway's VPN, which will simulate on-campus access.
If you are not using Royal Holloway's VPN, you may be asked for a login. In this instance you can use your College username and password (which you normally use to access Moodle).
More information on accessing e-resources can be found in our Accessing Eresources page.
BoB is a viewing and off-air recording and media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists and share them with others.
BoB is only available in the UK.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films, documentaries and educational videos.
A collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including:
Archives Unbound
Daily Mail Historical Archive
The Economist Historical Archive
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Series 2, Empire)
Political Extremism and Radicalism
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from different news sources.
The link below will help you find Royal Holloway PhD theses, UK theses through British Library's EThOS service and theses and dissertations from other countries through ProQuest.
The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.
The online version of the OED including over 500,000 definitions, together with etymological analysis and variant spellings. Traces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present.
Video tutorial on using the Oxford English Dictionary
This link opens in a new windowOver 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
A series of online research guides in a range of subjects including American Literature, British and Irish Literature, Cinema and Media Studies, Environmental Science, Victorian Literature,Geography, Classics and Philosophy. Each guide contains a series of articles introducing key topics, and lists recommended readings about each topic.
Video user guide (YouTube)
