Subject Guides: Economics: Finding Subject Specific Information

Discover

In this section of the Library's Moodle space you will find resources and activities to help you develop your information searching skills.

Develop skills to help you search for information

Accessing other libraries

Through this link you will find more information about accessing Senate House's physical and online resources, as well as information about accessing libraries at other institutions.

Accessing other libraries

Recommended Resources

You can find a list of subject specific databases for Economics on our Library Resources A-Z.

What is Bloomberg?

Bloomberg is a platform (Terminal) which provides access to live financial, currencies, and commodities data, along with a wide range of news articles, reports, and background information. The service can only be accessed through the Bloomberg Terminals on campus.

To use the Bloomberg Terminals you will need to create a Bloomberg account. You can only do this on the Bloomberg Terminals, remote access is not available.

Bloomberg also overlays Excel so you can use Excel to export data from Bloomberg. Please see the guidance document below on how to install the Bloomberg Excel Add-On if it is not already available.

Where can I access the Bloomberg Terminals?

The Bloomberg Terminals are located in PC Lab 1 in the Computer Centre at the Egham Campus.

When can I access the Bloomberg Terminals?

PC Lab 1 in the Computer Centre is open to users 24/7. Between 18:00-08:00 and at weekends you will need your university card to access the PC Lab. Please be aware that teaching takes place in the PC Lab and the Bloomberg Terminals will not be accessible during these times.

Where can I get help using the Bloomberg Terminals?

Bloomberg provide a short guide for getting started on the Bloomberg Terminals. You can also access the online Bloomberg Help Centre through the Bloomberg website, or by pressing F1 on the keyboard when logged into a Bloomberg Terminal.

The library also runs introductory training sessions on how to use the Terminals for relevant subject areas. We will directly contact you to advertise when these are running. You can also contact your subjects Information Consultant if you have any questions about using Bloomberg.

What is Bloomberg Market Concepts?

The Bloomberg Market Concepts course is an industry recognised qualification in using the Bloomberg Terminals. Please use your Royal Holloway email address to sign up to the course. The course is free for Royal Holloway Library users. Once you leave Royal Holloway you may be charged to complete the course.

You can access the course through a web browser, you do not need to be on a Bloomberg Terminal to complete it. The course can take between 8-12 hours to finish but it will save your progress as you complete different sections. Bloomberg do occasionally add new modules, so it is worth checking to see if there is any new content.

Adding Bloomberg Excel Add-On to Royal Holloway computers
This PDF document outlines the steps required to add the Bloomberg Excel spreadsheet Add-On. These instructions apply to Royal Holloway PCs specifically.

Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Explore the world's companies through expert analysis such as SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets and more.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Marketline gives access to market research and company analysis reports covering sectors including consumer goods, finance, food and drink and technology.

Help and Support pages from Marketline
Mintel This link opens in a new window
A globally recognised market analysis resource, Mintel produces hundreds of reports into consumer markets every year. Each report that Mintel publishes provides a unique overview of a market's dynamics and prospects, giving you the knowledge to devise informed and profitable marketing strategy.

We currently have access to the following UK sectors:
Automotive
Technology
Brands
Retail
Lifestyle
Health & Wellbeing
Media
Leisure
Beauty

We also have access to 'Mintel Trends' which gives a more global perspective on a variety of sectors.

Office for National Statistics This link opens in a new window
The UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides data on over 80,000 topics covering agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. The content is geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, with a focus on current (not historical) statistics.
UK National Statistics This link opens in a new window
Government statistics published by the Office for National Statistics, covering a range of subjects including business, crime, the economy, education, government, health and population.

The Economist via Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
The Economist is an weekly magazine that focuses on current affairs, international business, politics, and technology.
Financial Times via Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community. This newspaper is available via Gale OneFile.

Accessing resources off campus

To access our resources off-campus, you can use Royal Holloway's VPN, which will simulate on-campus access.

If you are not using Royal Holloway's VPN, you may be asked for a login. In this instance you can use your College username and password (which you normally use to access Moodle).

More information on accessing e-resources can be found in our Accessing Eresources page.

General resources

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education This link opens in a new window
BoB is a viewing and off-air recording and media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists and share them with others.
BoB is only available in the UK.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films, documentaries and educational videos.

Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
OneFile News is a full-text international newspaper resource that allows users to quickly search and compare news articles published worldwide.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
A collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including:
Archives Unbound
Daily Mail Historical Archive,
The Economist Historical Archive,
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive,
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Series 2, Empire),
Political Extremism and Radicalism,
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from different news sources.
Financial Times via Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community. This newspaper is available via Gale OneFile.

The link below will help you find Royal Holloway PhD theses, UK theses through British Library's EThOS service and theses and dissertations from other countries through ProQuest.

Accessing theses

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The online version of the OED including over 500,000 definitions, together with etymological analysis and variant spellings. Traces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present.
Video tutorial on using the Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford Reference Online (via Senate House Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
Full Text
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
A series of online research guides in a range of subjects including American Literature, British and Irish Literature, Cinema and Media Studies, Environmental Science, Victorian Literature,Geography, Classics and Philosophy. Each guide contains a series of articles introducing key topics, and lists recommended readings about each topic.
Video User guide (YouTube)