Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In this section of the Library's Moodle space you will find resources and activities to help you develop your information searching skills.
Accessing other libraries
Through this link you will find more information about accessing Senate House's physical and online resources, as well as information about accessing libraries at other institutions.
Lecture Notes in Physics This link opens in a new window
E-books on developments in physics research and teaching.
Materials Science eBook Collection (SpringerLink) This link opens in a new window
The full text of all the English language titles in the Springer Materials Sciences collection published between 2005 and 2010.
Physics eBook Collection (SpringerLink) This link opens in a new window
The full text of all the English language titles in the Springer Physics collection published between 2005 and 2010.
Safari Books Online This link opens in a new window
A database providing full text electronic access to books in IT and computing. It also has a number of case studies, online tutorials, recorded lectures and other visual materials for you to access.
To access this resource, you will need to use your Royal Holloway email address.
Instructions to access Safari Books Online
American Mathematical Society journals This link opens in a new window
The AMS has published peer-reviewed journals in mathematical research for over 100 years. This resource is a searchable archive of the journals of the AMS. All back issues up to 2005 are freely available, and more recent articles from selected titles are also included.
Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) This link opens in a new window
An archive of journals published by the American Physical Society from 1893, including Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A-E.
Socio-Economic Data and Applications Centre (SEDAC) This link opens in a new window
This is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers in the Earth Observing System Data and Information System of the US National Aeronautics and Space Administration. SEDAC focuses on human interactions in the environment.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A major collection of journals on science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
Astronomical Data Centre
The Data Centre is part of the Cambridge Astronomical Survey Unit in the Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge, and houses a good selection of data from the UK's ground based telescopes as well as a number of catalogues.
International Nuclear Information System
The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) hosts one of the world's largest collections of published information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology.
NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database
NED is a comprehensive database of multiwavelength data for extragalactic objects, providing a systematic, ongoing fusion of information integrated from hundreds of large sky surveys and tens of thousands of research publications. The contents and services span the entire observed spectrum from gamma rays through radio frequencies. As new observations are published, they are cross-identified or statistically associated with previous data and integrated into a unified database to simplify queries and retrieval. Seamless connectivity is also provided to data in NASA astrophysics mission archives (IRSA, HEASARC, MAST), to the astrophysics literature via ADS, and to other data centers around the world.
Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly three million images which are free to use for educational use.
Past Exam Papers
Electronic copies of past exam papers provided by Royal Holloway Library Services. By default, you will be logged on as a guest. Remember to log out and log back in with your College credentials.
Accessing resources off campus
To access our resources off-campus, you can use Royal Holloway's VPN, which will simulate on-campus access.
If you are not using Royal Holloway's VPN, you may be asked for a login. In this instance you can use your College username and password (which you normally use to access Moodle).
More information on accessing e-resources can be found in our Accessing Eresources page.
BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education This link opens in a new window
BoB is a viewing and off-air recording and media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists and share them with others.
BoB is only available in the UK.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community.
To access the premium subscription giving you full access to the content, you MUST register on first using the Financial Times for an account using your Royal Holloway email address. Therafter, you log in using your Royal Holloway email address and the password you have created when registering directly with The Financial Times.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
OneFile News is a full-text international newspaper resource that allows users to quickly search and compare news articles published worldwide.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
A collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including:
Archives Unbound (trial)
British Library Newspapers,
Daily Mail Historical Archive,
The Economist Historical Archive,
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive,
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals,
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection,
The Times Digital Archive,
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from different news sources.
The link below will help you find Royal Holloway PhD theses, UK theses through British Library's EThOS service and theses and dissertations from other countries through ProQuest.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Over 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
A series of online research guides in a range of subjects including American Literature
, British and Irish Literature
, Cinema and Media Studies
, Environmental Science
, Victorian Literature
. Each guide contains a series of articles introducing key topics, and lists recommended readings about each topic.
Video User guide (YouTube)
Royal Holloway Library LibGuide by Royal Holloway Library is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.