Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In this section of the Library's Moodle space you will find resources and activities to help you develop your information searching skills.
Accessing other libraries
Through this link you will find more information about accessing Senate House's physical and online resources, as well as information about accessing libraries at other institutions.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of every article published in the journals, newsletters and conference proceedings of the Association of Computing Machinery.
It also links to Special Interest Groups in the field of computing.
IEEE Explore This link opens in a new window
A wide range of articles on technology and engineering including IEEE Journals, IEEE Conference Proceedings and ebooks.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
An index of journal articles and book reviews across a range of subjects, with coverage from 1970.
Engineering eBook Collection (SpringerLink) This link opens in a new window
The full text of all the English language titles in the Springer Engineering collection published between 2005 and 2010.
Materials Science eBook Collection (SpringerLink) This link opens in a new window
The full text of all the English language titles in the Springer Materials Sciences collection published between 2005 and 2010.
Safari Books Online This link opens in a new window
A database providing full text electronic access to books in IT and computing. It also has a number of case studies, online tutorials, recorded lectures and other visual materials for you to access.
To access this resource, you will need to use your Royal Holloway email address.
Instructions to access Safari Books Online
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Search and access the full text of all current British Standards and many equivalent international standards (e.g. ISOs/IECs).
BSOL have introduced new security features which will change the way you open PDFs on their platform. You now need to download the FileOpen plugin
to access the standards.
Espacenet Patent Search
Espacenet contains all the patent documentation available to European Patent Office examiners and the latest patent applications from all the EPO member states.
USPTO Patent Database
Information about all US patents from the first patent issued in 1790 (full-text from 1976) to the most recent .
Google Patents includes over 120 million patent publications from 100+ patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books, and documents from the Prior Art Archive.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
This resource is an open access archive of scholarly articles in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Economics.
CiteSeerX is an open-access scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
Searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
Biblographical databases with open access scientific articles from journals in Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela.
Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly three million images which are free to use for educational use.
Past Exam Papers
Electronic copies of past exam papers provided by Royal Holloway Library Services. By default, you will be logged on as a guest. Remember to log out and log back in with your College credentials.
Accessing resources off campus
To access our resources off-campus, you can use Royal Holloway's VPN, which will simulate on-campus access.
If you are not using Royal Holloway's VPN, you may be asked for a login. In this instance you can use your College username and password (which you normally use to access Moodle).
More information on accessing e-resources can be found in our Accessing Eresources page.
BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education This link opens in a new window
BoB is a viewing and off-air recording and media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists and share them with others.
BoB is only available in the UK.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community.
To access the premium subscription giving you full access to the content, you MUST register on first using the Financial Times for an account using your Royal Holloway email address. Therafter, you log in using your Royal Holloway email address and the password you have created when registering directly with The Financial Times.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
OneFile News is a full-text international newspaper resource that allows users to quickly search and compare news articles published worldwide.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
A collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including:
Archives Unbound (trial)
British Library Newspapers,
Daily Mail Historical Archive,
The Economist Historical Archive,
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive,
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals,
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection,
The Times Digital Archive,
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from different news sources.
The link below will help you find Royal Holloway PhD theses, UK theses through British Library's EThOS service and theses and dissertations from other countries through ProQuest.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Over 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
A series of online research guides in a range of subjects including American Literature
, British and Irish Literature
, Cinema and Media Studies
, Environmental Science
, Victorian Literature
. Each guide contains a series of articles introducing key topics, and lists recommended readings about each topic.
Video User guide (YouTube)
Royal Holloway Library LibGuide by Royal Holloway Library is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.