The Discovering strand will help you develop the skills you need to find subject specific information easily. This is useful if you are reading to prepare for a lecture or seminar, need to find resources for research, or want to go beyond your reading list resources for an assignment. Here you will find resources covering: how to use LibrarySearch, how to build effective search terms, how to use Boolean operators, and citation searching in LibrarySearch and databases.
The Evaluating strand will help you develop the skills you need to critically evaluate information so you're able to select reliable and appropriate information in your research and assignments. These skills are useful for helping identify fake news and misinformation, poor quality research and unreliable information. Content includes: podcasts on misinformation and filter bubbles, understanding and applying a framework for critical evaluation, and how to select the most suitable type of resources for different situations.
You can find a selection of subject-specific resources for LLC on our Library Resources A - Z.
Recommended resources box as standard - populate tabs with types of resources relevant to your subject area.
This link opens in a new windowProvides 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
This link opens in a new windowHumanities Source Ultimate offers a wide variety of resources ideal for scholars of languages, literature, religion and philosophy, history and the visual and performing arts. With feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, book reviews, original works of fiction, musicals, operas and plays, this database provides access to research that illuminates human thinking, action and interaction.
Hundreds of international full-text journals from North America, Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America bring a global perspective to researching the human experience. With locally published content integrated with region-specific authoritative resources from all over the globe, Humanities Source Ultimate provides unparalleled coverage of regional news pertinent to the humanities.
A multi-disciplinary databases with access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, as well as over 3 million images.
Quick tips on searching JSTOR
This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
This link opens in a new windowUnprecedented diversity with access to hard-to-find texts from black and world writers supports diversity in scholarship and perspectives. Unparalleled selection of content including 1,200 full-text journals, 500,000 primary works, 20,000 historic literary criticism sources, 1,300 videos, and 20,000 ebooks enables breadth and depth of study.
This link opens in a new windowProvides the full text of many scholarly journals (104 as of Sept. 2007) in the social sciences and humanities for the study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Articles are in English, Spanish and Portuguese and cover all aspects of Hispanic studies, from research on indigenous cultures past and present to economics, history, literature, political science and sociology.
Over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Subjects covered include cinema, cultural studies, drama, history, literature, mathematics, modern languages, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology.Most journals available online from 1995 or 1996 onwards
PDF guide to searching Project MUSE
Video Tutorials on using Project MUSE (YouTube)
This link opens in a new windowTorrossa, Casalini Libri's full text platform, offers access to articles and chapters, ebooks and ejournals from various Italian, Spanish, French and Portuguese publishers.
This link opens in a new windowAn international Bibliography of German Literature and Literary Studies.
Over 270 e-books from the Cambridge Histories series, published since 1960. The collection covers a range of subjects, from American History to History of the Book, including Economic History, British History, Philosophy, Language and Literature, Ancient History & Classical Studies.
A database of books published by Italian Academies between 1530 and 1700, listing printed material relating to the Italian learned Academies active in Bologna, Naples, Padua and Siena and now held in the collections of the British Library.
This database includes monographs, periodicals, maps and atlases, music scores and sound recordings, theses and dissertations dating back to 1913. Also, the database contains the holdings of the German Music Archive since 1976 and the archives of the German exile archive 1933-1945.
Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.
How to use Early European Books
This link opens in a new windowUnprecedented diversity with access to hard-to-find texts from black and world writers supports diversity in scholarship and perspectives. Unparalleled selection of content including 1,200 full-text journals, 500,000 primary works, 20,000 historic literary criticism sources, 1,300 videos, and 20,000 ebooks enables breadth and depth of study.
Over 100,000 free downloadable e-books in a range of languages, including classic literature and drama.
This link opens in a new windowTorrossa, Casalini Libri's full text platform, offers access to articles and chapters, ebooks and ejournals from various Italian, Spanish, French and Portuguese publishers.
This link opens in a new windowOver 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
BoB is a viewing and off-air recording and media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists and share them with others.
BoB is only available in the UK.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films, documentaries and educational videos.
OneFile News is a full-text international newspaper resource that allows users to quickly search and compare news articles published worldwide.
A collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including:
Archives Unbound
Daily Mail Historical Archive
The Economist Historical Archive
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Series 2, Empire)
Political Extremism and Radicalism
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from different news sources.
The link below will help you find Royal Holloway PhD theses, UK theses through British Library's EThOS service and theses and dissertations from other countries through ProQuest.
The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.
The online version of the OED including over 500,000 definitions, together with etymological analysis and variant spellings. Traces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present.
Video tutorial on using the Oxford English Dictionary
This link opens in a new windowOver 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
A series of online research guides in a range of subjects including American Literature, British and Irish Literature, Cinema and Media Studies, Environmental Science, Victorian Literature,Geography, Classics and Philosophy. Each guide contains a series of articles introducing key topics, and lists recommended readings about each topic.
Video user guide (YouTube)
Through this link you will find more information about accessing Senate House's physical and online resources, as well as information about accessing libraries at other institutions.
