The Discovering strand will help you develop the skills you need to find subject specific information easily. This is useful if you are reading to prepare for a lecture or seminar, need to find resources for research, or want to go beyond your reading list resources for an assignment. Here you will find resources covering: how to use LibrarySearch, how to build effective search terms, how to use Boolean operators, and citation searching in LibrarySearch and databases.
The Evaluating strand will help you develop the skills you need to critically evaluate information so you're able to select reliable and appropriate information in your research and assignments. These skills are useful for helping identify fake news and misinformation, poor quality research and unreliable information. Content includes: podcasts on misinformation and filter bubbles, understanding and applying a framework for critical evaluation, and how to select the most suitable type of resources for different situations.
These are some useful resources for Earth Sciences, but we have many more! You can see the full list of subject specific resources here or see our Library Resources A-Z for all the resources you have access to as a member of Royal Holloway.
Geology Digimap provides map data at a number of different scales from the British Geological Survey (BGS) along with the BGS Lexicon of Named Rock Units and the Onshore Borehole Index. You can view maps through their web browser, save maps for printing and download the geological map data for use in geographical information systems (GIS).
Geology Digimap is an EDINA (Edinburgh Data and Information Access) service and you will need to register your details with them. Following this, please read the collection's licence agreement carefully and only accept it if you agree to the terms of use.
The Ordnance Survey collection contains a number of datasets ranging from small scale base maps, such as MiniScale®, to detailed large scale mapping including OS MasterMap®, which is the most detailed large scale vector dataset available from Ordnance Survey. Complete coverage of Great Britain is available for all the products in the collection and all products are updated throughout the year, as and when updates are received from Ordnance Survey.
Ordnance Survey Digimap is an EDINA (Edinburgh Data and Information Access) service and you will need to register your details with them. Following this, please read the collection's licence agreement carefully and only accept it if you agree to the terms of use.
This encyclopedia covers all areas of Quaternary Science, written by experts. It is accessible to undergraduate students.
Full text journals and books published by the Geological Society of London.Contains 18,000 peer-reviewed articles and 260,000 pages of Earth science content.Full-text archives back to 1845.
The PSDS is an EPSRC-funded National Research Facility provided by the University of Southampton, and Science and Technology Facilities Council. It replaced the National Chemical Database Service
To use this resource, you will need to register with the PSDS.
This is a few of our larger journal databases. You can find these and many more by using LibrarySearch
Full text journals and books published by the Geological Society of London.Contains 18,000 peer-reviewed articles and 260,000 pages of Earth science content.Full-text archives back to 1845.
A major collection of journals on science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
Over 750 journals on science, technology and medicine, with selected journals on humanities and social sciences. Some of this is freely available and some is available through Royal Holloway subscriptions.
BoB is a viewing and off-air recording and media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists and share them with others.
BoB is only available in the UK.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films, documentaries and educational videos.
OneFile News is a full-text international newspaper resource that allows users to quickly search and compare news articles published worldwide.
A collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including:
Archives Unbound
Daily Mail Historical Archive
The Economist Historical Archive
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Series 2, Empire)
Political Extremism and Radicalism
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from different news sources.
The link below will help you find Royal Holloway PhD theses, UK theses through British Library's EThOS service and theses and dissertations from other countries through ProQuest.
The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.
The online version of the OED including over 500,000 definitions, together with etymological analysis and variant spellings. Traces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present.
Video tutorial on using the Oxford English Dictionary
This link opens in a new windowOver 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
A series of online research guides in a range of subjects including American Literature, British and Irish Literature, Cinema and Media Studies, Environmental Science, Victorian Literature,Geography, Classics and Philosophy. Each guide contains a series of articles introducing key topics, and lists recommended readings about each topic.
Video user guide (YouTube)
Through this link you will find more information about accessing Senate House's physical and online resources, as well as information about accessing libraries at other institutions.
