The Discovering strand will help you develop the skills you need to find subject specific information easily. This is useful if you are reading to prepare for a lecture or seminar, need to find resources for research, or want to go beyond your reading list resources for an assignment. Here you will find resources covering: how to use LibrarySearch, how to build effective search terms, how to use Boolean operators, and citation searching in LibrarySearch and databases.
The Evaluating strand will help you develop the skills you need to critically evaluate information so you're able to select reliable and appropriate information in your research and assignments. These skills are useful for helping identify fake news and misinformation, poor quality research and unreliable information. Content includes: podcasts on misinformation and filter bubbles, understanding and applying a framework for critical evaluation, and how to select the most suitable type of resources for different situations.
The scores can be found on the 1st floor of the library. They are in a section of the group study area and the entrance to this can be found next to the stairs, just past the vending machines. Here you will find items shelved at the 700 Dewey Number. This includes scores, but also material relating to music, drama and media arts. Some useful things to know:
If you are having any difficulties in finding a score please check the trolley with scores awaiting shelving and ask for help at the help desk, a member of staff would be more than happy to help you.
Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music streaming library. It includes music tracks plus text resources, composer notes, recording notes and history of music.
Accessibility information
An open-access respository of 16th-century music provided by the Music Department of Royal Holloway (lead by Dr Stephen Rose) in collaboration with the British Library.
Accessibility informationA multi-disciplinary databases with access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, as well as over 3 million images.
Quick tips on searching JSTOR
Over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Subjects covered include cinema, cultural studies, drama, history, literature, mathematics, modern languages, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology.Most journals available online from 1995 or 1996 onwards
PDF guide to searching Project MUSE
Video Tutorials on using Project MUSE (YouTube)
Gale Research Complete provides access to a variety of primary and secondary sources. From literary criticism and full text literary works to rare primary source content and news, this resource is packed full of information covering a variety of subjects. You can find details on what each database contains on the Gale menu page after you login, but here is a brief snapshot of what you can find:
Gale Virtual Reference Library
News sources (current and historical)
Gale Primary Sources, including several archival collections e.g. Holocaust sudies
E-books of the Cambridge Companions in Literature, Classics, Philosophy, Religion, Music and Culture, giving accessible introductions to major writers, artists, composers, philosophers, topics and periods. Individual titles are listed in the library catalogue.
Accessibility informationThe Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. Since its original publication in print Taruskin’s landmark study has received universal acclaim and numerous awards.
Accessibility informationOxford Handbooks in Music bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in Music. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer thorough introductions to topics in the discipline.
Online reference books for music, including the multi-volume encyclopedia The Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, as well as The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.This resource contains thousands of journal articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works.
This resource is also known as Grove Music Online.
A multidisciplinary database provides high-quality research on a wide range of topics including but not limited to social sciences, humanities, science, and education.
Over 2,200 e-books in a range of humanities subjects, including area studies, film and media studies, history, literature, musicology, performance studies, philosophy, politics and sociology.
Accessibility informationBlack Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.
Accessibility informationThis database includes monographs, periodicals, maps and atlases, music scores and sound recordings, theses and dissertations dating back to 1913. Also, the database contains the holdings of the German Music Archive since 1976 and the archives of the German exile archive 1933-1945.
Accessibility informationPrimary sources related to the British arts in the 19th Century, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. This unparalleled collection provides a detailed look at the state of the British art world with manuscripts and compositions, personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records, offering an unmatched glimpse into the inner workings of the arts world and life in Victorian Britain.
Accessibility informationA major index of journal articles, books, dissertations, films, concert reviews, critical commentaries and recording notes, covering a wide range of topics in musicology and related fields.
Accessibility informationDDM-Online is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology.
BoB is a viewing and off-air recording and media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists and share them with others.
BoB is only available in the UK.
Search all the online resources from the British Universities Film and Video Council (BUFVC) in one place. Includes online newsreels, and historical listings on television and radio broadcasts since 1986.
This resource searches 13 BUFVC databases, which can be searched separately or as one.
A collection of performances and interviews of a number of classic and Shakespearean productions, including: live productions to watch in full or break down by scene, act or speech; interviews and documentaries featuring the cast and creative teams behind each production, as well as detailed study guides, authored by experts in the field.
Accessibility informationA platform which contains plays by more than 150 playwrights; scholarly texts; tools, such as character grids, words and speeches graphs, part books and monologue search; production stills from the V&A performance archive.
Video User Guides from Drama Online
A multi-disciplinary databases with access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, as well as over 3 million images.
Quick tips on searching JSTOR
A directory of over 2,000 websites about moving images and sound material. These have been subdivided into over 40 subject areas.
Accessibility informationOperaVision is a freeview opera streaming platform, support by the European Union's Creative Europe programme. You can watch performances streamed live from the theatre, and on demand for serveral months thereafter. Enjoy a variety of shows - including opera, operetta, musical theatre, dance, ballet and concerts - all for free, live and on demand.
Business Source Complete (sometimes known as Ebsco) is a key resource for all business and management students, it is also useful for anyone interested in finance, accounting or marketing. In this resource you will find many journal articles and trade magazines including Harvard Business Review and The Economist. You can also find company profiles, industry reports and country reports.
Help Pages on Business Source CompleteAccessibility informationNexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
Accessibility informationA globally recognised market analysis resource, Mintel produces hundreds of unique reports into consumer markets every year. Each report provides an overview of a market's dynamics and prospects enabling you to create an informed marketing strategy.
We currently have access to the following UK sectors: Automotive; Technology; Brands; Retail; Lifestyle; Health & Wellbeing; Media; Leisure; Beauty
We also have access to 'Mintel Trends' which gives a more global perspective on a variety of sectors.
BoB is a viewing and off-air recording and media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists and share them with others.
BoB is only available in the UK.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films, documentaries and educational videos.
Accessibility informationOneFile News is a full-text international newspaper resource that allows users to quickly search and compare news articles published worldwide.
Accessibility informationA collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including:
Archives Unbound
Daily Mail Historical Archive
The Economist Historical Archive
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Nineteenth Century UK Peridicals - Empire
Political Extremism and Radicalism
State Papers Online Colonial
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
Accessibility informationRegional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from different news sources.
Accessibility informationThe link below will help you find Royal Holloway PhD theses, UK theses through British Library's EThOS service and theses and dissertations from other countries through ProQuest.
The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.
Accessibility informationThe online version of the OED including over 500,000 definitions, together with etymological analysis and variant spellings. Traces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present.
Video tutorial on using the Oxford English Dictionary
Over 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
A series of online research guides in a range of subjects including American Literature, British and Irish Literature, Cinema and Media Studies, Victorian Literature, Geography, Classics and Philosophy. Each guide contains a series of articles introducing key topics, and lists recommended readings about each topic.
Video user guide (YouTube)
Through this link you will find more information about accessing Senate House's physical and online resources, as well as information about accessing libraries at other institutions.
