Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In this section of the Library's Moodle space you will find resources and activities to help you develop your information searching skills.
Accessing other libraries
Through this link you will find more information about accessing Senate House's physical and online resources, as well as information about accessing libraries at other institutions.
These are some useful resources for Biological Sciences, but we have many more! You can see the full list of subject specific resources here or see our Databases A-Z for all the resources you have access to as a member of Royal Holloway.
Birds of the World
Birds of the World is an online comprehensive resource for all the birds of the world.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
A comprehensive online encyclopedia of the life sciences, with articles from the introductory to advanced research levels, written by experts in their fields.
A key resource for the biomedical and life sciences, PubMed supports the search and retrieval of literature. The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature.
A broad interdisciplinary indexing database, with a wide coverage of many subjects.
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana . Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community.
Database of more than 200 journal titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences, this resource provides full text peer-reviewed journal articles.
Online access to Nature and selected other journals published by the Nature Publishing Group.
A major collection of journals on science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
Access to ejournals and full-text articles in Biochemistry, Behavioural Science, Physics, Astronomy, Medicine, Earth Sciences and Computer Science.
Accessing resources off campus
To access our resources off-campus, you can use Royal Holloway's VPN, which will simulate on-campus access.
If you are not using Royal Holloway's VPN, you may be asked for a login. In this instance you can use your College username and password (which you normally use to access Moodle).
More information on accessing e-resources can be found in our Accessing Eresources page.
BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education
BoB is a viewing and off-air recording and media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists and share them with others.
BoB is only available in the UK.
The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community. Sign up for an account using your RHUL email address to access the premium subscription to the Financial Times newspaper (delayed one month).
Gale Primary Sources
A collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including:
British Library Newspapers,
Daily Mail Historical Archive,
The Economist Historical Archive,
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive,
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals,
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection,
The Times Digital Archive,
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Regional Business News
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from different news sources.
The link below will help you find Royal Holloway PhD theses, UK theses through British Library's EThOS service and theses and dissertations from other countries through ProQuest.
The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.
Oxford Reference Online
Over 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
A series of online research guides in a range of subjects including American Literature
, British and Irish Literature
, Cinema and Media Studies
, Environmental Science
, Victorian Literature
. Each guide contains a series of articles introducing key topics, and lists recommended readings about each topic.
Video User guide (YouTube)
Royal Holloway Library LibGuide by Royal Holloway Library is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.