Finding Subject Specific Information - London Graduate School - Electronic Engineering Project Management courses

Discover

In this section of the Library's Moodle space you will find resources and activities to help you develop your information searching skills.

Develop skills to help you search for information

Accessing resources off campus

To access our resources off-campus, you can use Royal Holloway's VPN, which will simulate on-campus access.

If you are not using Royal Holloway's VPN, you may be asked for a login. In this instance you can use your College username and password (which you normally use to access Moodle).

More information on accessing e-resources can be found in our Accessing Eresources page.

Recommended Resources

ABI Inform Global (via Senate House) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Global contains journals, company profiles and case studies covering business, economics and government policy. You will also find trade journals and dissertations as well as the Economist in this resource.
ABI Inform Help Pages
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete (sometimes known as Ebsco) is a key resource for all business and management students, it is also useful for anyone interested in finance, accounting or marketing. In this resource you will find many journal articles and trade magazines including Harvard Business Review and The Economist. You can also find company profiles, industry reports and country reports.
Help Pages on Business Source Complete - links on the left
The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015 This link opens in a new window
Online archive of The Economist, the weekly paper on politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. Includes all issues from 1843 without the most recent 5 years, as well as various supplements, special reports and surveys.
Access is via Gale Primary Sources.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Emerald contains journal articles, ebooks and case studies covering management and accounting topics. It includes case studies on emerging markets and journal articles which are not available in Business Source Complete.
Full Text
Help pages for Emerald
There are currently some access issues due to a technical fault. Please see our blog post on how to work around this issue: https://libraryblog.rhul.ac.uk/2018/03/28/technical-issue-with-some-library-resources/
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Marketline gives access to market research and company analysis reports covering sectors including consumer goods, finance, food and drink and technology.

Help and Support pages from Marketline

Henry Stewart Talks (Business and Management Collection) This link opens in a new window
A collection of audio-visual lectures and case studies by leading experts from commerce, industry and academia, in Business and Management.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides data on over 80,000 topics covering agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. The content is geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, with a focus on current (not historical) statistics.
Office for National Statistics This link opens in a new window
The UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK.

Engineering eBook Collection (SpringerLink) This link opens in a new window
The full text of all the English language titles in the Springer Engineering collection published between 2005 and 2010.
Harvard Business Review Press e-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
A database containing books published by Harvard Business Review Press covering topics such as management, leadership and economics. You can download sections, read online or search for keywords within a book.
Safari Books Online This link opens in a new window
A database providing full text electronic access to books in IT and computing. It also has a number of case studies, online tutorials, recorded lectures and other visual materials for you to access.
To access this resource, you will need to use your Royal Holloway email address.
Instructions to access Safari Books Online

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of every article published in the journals, newsletters and conference proceedings of the Association of Computing Machinery.
It also links to Special Interest Groups in the field of computing.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
A wide range of articles on technology and engineering including IEEE Journals, IEEE Conference Proceedings and ebooks.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
An index of journal articles and book reviews across a range of subjects, with coverage from 1970.

British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Search and access the full text of all current British Standards and many equivalent international standards (e.g. ISOs/IECs).
BSOL have introduced new security features which will change the way you open PDFs on their platform. You now need to download the FileOpen plugin to access the standards.

Espacenet Patent Search
Espacenet contains all the patent documentation available to European Patent Office examiners and the latest patent applications from all the EPO member states.
USPTO Patent Database
Information about all US patents from the first patent issued in 1790 (full-text from 1976) to the most recent .
Google Patents
Google Patents includes over 120 million patent publications from 100+ patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books, and documents from the Prior Art Archive.

Resources on companies

Annual Reports
Up-to-date listing of over 85,000 annual reports on the internet covering over 7,000 companies. You can search for companies or filter by industry.
Investor Network
Great website to find out company earnings information, as well as read news and commentaries on companies or industries.

Resources on industries

Doing Business
Data and analysis that measures the business environment of more than 180 countries and selected cities around the globe.

Engineering resources

arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
This resource is an open access archive of scholarly articles in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Economics.

CiteSeerX
CiteSeerX is an open-access scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
IndiaRxiv
A preprints repository for Indian researchers who would like to share their research outputs (scholarly works) publicly as soon as possible as preprints for public peer review for improvement and to seek collaborations. This preprints service is launched with the support of Centre for Open Science using their Open Science Framework.
National Digital Library of India
National Digital Library of India (NDLI) is a virtual repository of learning resources which is not just a repository with search/browse facilities but provides a host of services for the learner community. NDLI is designed to hold content of any language and provides interface support for 10 most widely used Indian languages. It is developed, operated and maintained from Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur.
SciELO
Biblographical databases with open access scientific articles from journals in Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela.
Shodhganga
Repository of Indian theses.

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly three million images which are free to use for educational use.

General resources

BoB - On Demand TV & Radio for Education This link opens in a new window
BoB is a viewing and off-air recording and media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists and share them with others.
BoB is only available in the UK.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films, documentaries and educational videos.

Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
OneFile News is a full-text international newspaper resource that allows users to quickly search and compare news articles published worldwide.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
A collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including:
Archives Unbound
Daily Mail Historical Archive,
The Economist Historical Archive,
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive,
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Series 2, Empire),
Political Extremism and Radicalism,
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from different news sources.
Financial Times via Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations which provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community. This newspaper is available via Gale OneFile.

The link below will help you find Royal Holloway PhD theses, UK theses through British Library's EThOS service and theses and dissertations from other countries through ProQuest.

Accessing theses

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The online version of the OED including over 500,000 definitions, together with etymological analysis and variant spellings. Traces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present.
Video tutorial on using the Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford Reference Online (via Senate House Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
Full Text
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
A series of online research guides in a range of subjects including American Literature, British and Irish Literature, Cinema and Media Studies, Environmental Science, Victorian Literature,Geography, Classics and Philosophy. Each guide contains a series of articles introducing key topics, and lists recommended readings about each topic.
Video User guide (YouTube)

London Graduate School - Electronic Engineering Project Management courses: Finding Subject Specific Information