English: Finding Subject Specific Information

A digital collection of more than 180,000 titles published in Great Britain and its colonies during the Eighteenth century.

Scanned images, and full-text digital versions where available, of over 125,000 books published in English up to 1700.

Contains complete facsimile images of 190 manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the celebrated Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds.

A collection of over 330,000 works of English and American literature covering poetry, drama, and prose from the 8th to the 21st centuries, as well as thousands of critical articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries.
Online Guide to Literature Online from ProQuest

Primary resources relating to written and early printed culture in Britain during the period 1000 to 1500, including literary manuscripts, historical documents and early printed books which are located on websites owned by libraries, archives, universities and publishers.

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

The New Oxford Shakespeare presents an entirely new consideration of all of Shakespeare's works, edited from first principles from the base-texts themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship. 
Searching help

Unprecedented diversity with access to hard-to-find texts from black and world writers supports diversity in scholarship and perspectives. Unparalleled selection of content including 1,200 full-text journals, 500,000 primary works, 20,000 historic literary criticism sources, 1,300 videos, and 20,000 ebooks enables breadth and depth of study.

Oxford Handbooks in Literature bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in Literature. 
How to use Oxford Handbooks Online

OSEO currently includes writers active between 1485 and 1901, plus Classical Latin authors — from Jane Austen, Jeremy Bentham, Catullus, Dickens, Donne, and Dryden through to Virgil and Wordsworth

Discover manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University, the project seeks to rediscover early modern women authors who were “lost” because their writing exists only in manuscript form.

Emily Dickinson's Late Fragments and Related Texts, 1870-1886.

Richard Brome Online is an online edition of the Collected Works of the Caroline dramatist, Richard Brome. The edition not only makes the texts accessible to scholars and theatre practitioners, but also begins to explore their theatricality visually, serving as inspiration to encourage more frequent staging of Brome's works.

Contains the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, including access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.
How to use Romanticism: Life, literature and landscape: A short video tutorial

Showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.

A series of Middle English texts which occupy an important place in the literary and cultural canon.

More than 460 periodical runs published between the 1860s and the 1930s, covering a range of subjects; from magisterial quarterlies and scholarly and professional organs through to coterie art periodicals, penny weeklies and illustrated family magazines. Notable authors include Walter Bagehot, Aubrey Beardsley, Daniel Defoe, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, Henry Fielding, Ford Madox Ford, W. M. Rossetti, and Tobias Smollett. Also, original periodical versions of many literary works are included, for example as well as De Quincey's Confessions of an English Opium-Eater, Gaskell's North and South and Conan Doyle's The Hound of the Baskervilles.
Help with searching this resource

Gale Literature is an integrated research platform bringing together multiple literary resources from Gale:
Gale Literary Index; Gale Literature: Criticism, Resource Center, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, LitFinder, Scribner Writer Series, Something About the Author, Twayne's Author Series.

Humanities Source Ultimate offers a wide variety of resources ideal for scholars of languages, literature, religion and philosophy, history and the visual and performing arts. With feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, book reviews, original works of fiction, musicals, operas and plays, this database provides access to research that illuminates human thinking, action and interaction.

Hundreds of international full-text journals from North America, Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America bring a global perspective to researching the human experience. With locally published content integrated with region-specific authoritative resources from all over the globe, Humanities Source Ultimate provides unparalleled coverage of regional news pertinent to the humanities.

A multi-disciplinary databases with access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, as well as over 3 million images.
Quick tips on searching JSTOR

A collection of over 330,000 works of English and American literature covering poetry, drama, and prose from the 8th to the 21st centuries, as well as thousands of critical articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries.
Online Guide to Literature Online from ProQuest

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

With a worldwide circulation of over 135,000, the New York Review of Books is a semi-monthly magazine with articles on literature, culture, economics, science and current affairs. Published in New York City, it is inspired by the idea that the discussion of important books is an indispensable literary activity.

Unprecedented diversity with access to hard-to-find texts from black and world writers supports diversity in scholarship and perspectives. Unparalleled selection of content including 1,200 full-text journals, 500,000 primary works, 20,000 historic literary criticism sources, 1,300 videos, and 20,000 ebooks enables breadth and depth of study.

Over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Subjects covered include cinema, cultural studies, drama, history, literature, mathematics, modern languages, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology.Most journals available online from 1995 or 1996 onwards
PDF guide to searching Project MUSE
Video Tutorials on using Project MUSE (YouTube)

For over a century, the Times Literary Supplement has been the world's leading cultural magazine, with essays and reviews on the most significant books, ideas and art of our times, proud to be publishing the best and brightest writers about the broadest range of books and ideas. Every week you’ll find over 40 reviews and essays, from Shakespeare to Schopenhauer, popular theatre to political theory.

Online archive of the TLS. As well as literature, the paper includes reviews of theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions.
Access is via Gale Primary Sources.

Gale Literature is an integrated research platform bringing together multiple literary resources from Gale:
Gale Literary Index; Gale Literature: Criticism, Resource Center, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, LitFinder, Scribner Writer Series, Something About the Author, Twayne's Author Series.

With a worldwide circulation of over 135,000, the New York Review of Books is a semi-monthly magazine with articles on literature, culture, economics, science and current affairs. Published in New York City, it is inspired by the idea that the discussion of important books is an indispensable literary activity.

Areas of interest to medievalists include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Arabic and Islamic Studies, Music, and Theatre.

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

An online research guide in the field of American Literature

An online research guide in the field of British and Irish Literature

An online research guide in the field of Victorian Literature

A comprehensive bibliography of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions from 1960 onwards, covering books, articles, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews, audiovisual materials, and electronic media.
PDF guide to using the World Shakespeare Bibliography Online

A collection of performances and interviews of a number of classic and Shakespearean productions, including: live productions to watch in full or break down by scene, act or speech; interviews and documentaries featuring the cast and creative teams behind each production, as well as detailed study guides, authored by experts in the field.

Audiobook versions of many classic English language novels, plays, and poetry. Including works by Austen, Beckett, Dickens, Melville and Shakespeare.

Unprecedented diversity with access to hard-to-find texts from black and world writers supports diversity in scholarship and perspectives. Unparalleled selection of content including 1,200 full-text journals, 500,000 primary works, 20,000 historic literary criticism sources, 1,300 videos, and 20,000 ebooks enables breadth and depth of study.

The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.

The Chaucer Encyclopedia provides the most comprehensive overview to date of the life, times, works, sources/analogues, and influence of Geoffrey Chaucer (b. 1340s – d. 1400). It also makes accessible the approaches readers have taken to understanding Chaucer's oeuvre, as well as the analogues and sources (direct or intermediary, contemporary or from the distant past) of Chaucer's works. Providing nearly 1400 entries, more than any similar work on the market today, The Chaucer Encyclopedia is the best source for a new generation of students and scholars.

The online version of the OED including over 500,000 definitions, together with etymological analysis and variant spellings. Traces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present.
Video tutorial on using the Oxford English Dictionary

An electronic version of the second impression of A Thesaurus of Old English, first published by King’s College London in 1995.

OneFile News is a full-text international newspaper resource that allows users to quickly search and compare news articles published worldwide.

A collection of historical archives (modern to present), newspapers and periodicals (17th to 19th centuries) including: 
Archives Unbound
Daily Mail Historical Archive 
The Economist Historical Archive
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Series 2, Empire)
Political Extremism and Radicalism
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive

Nexis provides access to a wide range of UK and international newspapers. It also includes a collection of in-depth company profiles and industry reports covering millions of public and private companies.

Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from different news sources.

The online academic edition of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including articles, biographies, images, videos and a world atlas. The 'Compare Countries' tool shows a range of facts and statistics for different countries.

The online version of the OED including over 500,000 definitions, together with etymological analysis and variant spellings. Traces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present.
Video tutorial on using the Oxford English Dictionary

Over 100 general reference works, language dictionaries and subject dictionaries covering languages, science and medicine, humanities, social sciences and business.
 

A series of online research guides in a range of subjects including American Literature, British and Irish Literature, Cinema and Media Studies, Environmental Science, Victorian Literature,Geography, Classics and Philosophy. Each guide contains a series of articles introducing key topics, and lists recommended readings about each topic.
Video user guide (YouTube)