Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Searching

Scopus is a comprehensive database for scientific, technical, and medical information, covering more than 19,000 publications from over 5,000 publishers, and with records going back to the 1960s. It provides searching capability, linking to full-text sources, cited references, saved search, and alerting features.

A variety of citation data and analytical reports are available through Scopus, but remember:

  • Citation counts are not complete. Only citations from documents covered by Scopus from 1996 to present are included.
  • Coverage is more complete for some subjects (sciences, engineering, medicine) than for others (mostly social sciences and humanities).
  • Secondary sources are not covered as part of the Scopus database. They are references cited by the articles that are covered by Scopus and are not included in most counts or analyses.

Find Citations for Specific Publications

Do a search:

  • Access Scopus below and connect to the database.
  • Enter terms for a Document SearchAuthor SearchAffiliation Search, or Advanced Search.
  • Refine or limit the results to locate your document or a group of documents.

For a single document:

  • Citation countCited by.
  • View the citing list-- the documents that cite this one -- by clicking on the citation count.
  • View the list of references -- the articles cited by this one -- by clicking in the box in front of the title and then on View references in the gray menu above the results list.

For a group of documents:

  • Check the boxes in front of the titles of all documents you want to include.
  • Click on View Cited by in the gray menu above the results to get a combined list of documents that cite any of the checked documents.
  • Click on View references in the gray menu above the checked results to get a combined list of documents cited by any of the checked documents.
  • The total count of documents in either the combined Cited by or combined References list displays in the light green bar and also as the Document results number above the list.

Find Citations for a Specific Author

Do an author search:

  • Access Scopus below and connect to the database.
  • From the Author search tab, enter the author’s last name and first initial. (See the Author Search Tips box for more ideas on how to search for an author.)
  • The search will pick up the name in any location in the author list.

Select the author's name:

  • Search results will display each author name along with variations that Scopus has identified as being the same person.
  • Only names associated with more than one document will display automatically. Click on Show Profile Matches with One Document for a complete list.
  • Check the box in front of all names you want to include in your results set, or check the All or Page boxes.

View citation information:

  • View citation overview -- Click this link in the gray menu to see a chart summarizing citation data for each article by year, along with total citations, h-index and h-graph. Click on the appropriate number in the Total column to view a list of documents citing all of the author’s work in Scopus or citing a single document.
  • Author details screen -- Click on an author’s name in any document record to see this screen, which includes total documents, references, and citing documents with links to the lists, h-index, h-graph, links to a web search and the Author Evaluator, plus more; CAUTION: The counts on this screen are combined from the name variations that have been matched as one person by Scopus. Additional data may exist under other name entries that cannot be confirmed by Scopus.
Creative Commons License
Royal Holloway Library LibGuide by Royal Holloway Library is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.