Subject Guides: Referencing, Citing, and Structuring Bibliographies: Referencing Styles

Useful Referencing Guides

The best guide is the book Cite Them Right by Richard Pears & Graham Shields, and there are copies in the Library.

We recommend you check your departmental style guide for local variations - check out the individual subject guides for further details.

To access the Library Moodle Pages on Referencing click here. There are different learning resources on the different referencing styles, including Harvard, OSCOLA for Law students, Harvard for Classics students, MHRA for English. APA for Psychology and IEEE for Electronic Engineering.

Cite Them Right Online

Cite Them Right This link opens in a new window
An online platform to accompany the book, Cite them right. Provides referencing guidance for a variety of styles and materials. Also includes advice on avoiding plagiarism.
Cite them right help

Books on Referencing

Cite Them Right by Richard Pears; Graham Shields
Call Number: 378.170281 PEA
ISBN: 9781352005134
Publication Date: 2019-05-10
This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The eleventh edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Joseph Gibaldi; Modern Language Association of America Staff
ISBN: 9781603290241
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, the MLA Handbook is the guide millions of writers have relied on for over half a century. The seventh edition, taken out of print by the MLA in spring 2016 upon publication of the eighth edition, provides the MLA's previous recommendations on documentation style for use in student writing. Please note that copies of the seventh edition of the MLA Handbook include a code for accessing an accompanying Web site. The Web site is no longer available.