Skip to main content

Training: Training for all

These are the subject guides for Royal Holloway Staff and Students.

Library Training Calendar

Online Training

Book 1-2-1 or small group sessions with your Information Consultant

You can book a 1-2-1 appointment with your Information Consultant to discuss:

  • Using databases
  • Referencing
  • Searching
  • Using LibrarySearch
  • Any other aspect of library resources

Just email your Information Consultant using the details on the link below. 
Please be aware that at busy times there may be a delay in getting an appointment so please plan ahead.

Bitesize Library Training

Spring Term

Our Bitesize training sessions are 40 minute sessions on specific topics or resources, and are perfect for a quick skills top up, or to ask a question on a particular topic. This Term we will be running sessions on:

Finding Company Information - Friday 20th January 13:10 - 13:50

Who needs Netflix! - Friday 27th January 13:10 - 13:50

Fun with Maps - Friday 3rd February 13:10 - 13:50

Mass Observation Archive - Friday 10th February 13:10 - 13:50

Refworks - Friday 24th February 13:10 - 13:50

Endnote - Friday 3rd March 13:10 - 13:50

Shoah Archive and Human Rights Online - Friday 10th March 13:10 - 13:50

Beyond Royal Holloway - Friday 17th March 13:10 - 13:50

 

To request a session on another resource, or topic, contact your Information Consultant.

Science Drop In Sessions

SPRING TERM - DROP IN SESSIONS WITH THE SCIENCE LIBRARIAN

Short on time? Need to find information fast? Want to reference correctly & quickly?

DON’T PANIC!

Your Science Librarian is running 15-minute drop in sessions in Bedford Library for you to ask questions & learn how you can save time and find relevant information for your assignments…

  • Learn how to use RefWorks (saves citations and helps you reference ACCURATELY & FAST!)
  • Learn how indexes like PubMed, Scopus and Web of Science work
  • Ask any library- or resource-related questions you have…

All you need to do is find a date below that suits you and click on the link to sign up for a slot. 

Monday 23rd January 12-3pm

Thursday 9th February 1-3pm

Tuesday 14th February 1-3pm

Monday 20th February 1-3pm

Tuesday 7th March 1-3pm

Monday 13th March 1-3pm

Wednesday 22nd March 11am-1pm

 

None of the dates suit you? Send the library an email (library@rhul.ac.uk) and we can schedule a 1-2-1 appointment to suit you!

Sessions for 1st Year English Students

Thurs 20th October - Finding Quality Information (Arts Lecture Theatre 1, 4pm-5pm)
In this session we will look at the different resources available to you and how you can access them, we will also look at some subject specific resources and discuss finding quality information for you to use in your assignment.

Thurs 27th October - Searching and Managing References (Arts Lecture Theatre 1, 4pm-5pm)
This session will look at searching hints and tips and evaluating resources to ensure you are using the most reliable sources in your assignment. We will also talk about referencing and introduce you to software that can help manage your references and help create bibliographies and reference lists.