Skip to main content

International Students

A guide to help International Students use the library.

Quick Guide to Harvard Referencing

There are many different styles of referencing that are used by the college, it is important that you check with your department to make sure you are using the correct style.

The following guide is a short introduction to Harvard Referencing, if you need more help please contact your Information Consultant. Click here to find their details 

Harvard Referencing is made up of 2 parts: In text citations AND a bibliography

In Text Citations

This is a clearly identified note that states that you are referring to someone else's work and what it is that you are referring to. This will appear in the text and acts as a 'flag' to the reader. They know that this is referring to someone else's work, so can then go to your bibliography to see the full information relating to this source.

Bibliography

A bibliography is a list, located at the end of your piece of course work, of the references and all the material that you have used in your work. Anything referenced in the body of your essay should also have a corresponding entry in your bibliography.

In Text Citations

These are small bits of information about the source that you have used and they appear throughout the body of your essay. They normally contain the author's surname, date of publication and page numbers where appropriate. They act as flags, telling the reader that the last quote was from someone's work. They can then use the information within your in text citation to find the full information about this source in your bibliography.

Direct Quotes

When directly quoting from someone's work you have to use a in text citation after the quote

Example

“Academics in their own writing cite the work of others to respect the original thinking and consequent ownership of that work” (McMillan and Weyers, 2013, p.16)

Paraphrasing

If you are paraphrasing from someone's work i.e. putting their words into your own you still need to reference this as the original work was not your own.

Examples

It its important to cite the work of other academics in your assignment in order to acknowledge their ownership and respect the original work. (McMillan and Weyers, 2013, p.16)

McMillan and Weyers (2013, p.16) state that it is important to cite the work of other academics in your assignment in order to acknowledge their ownership and respect the original work. 

Bibliography

A bibliography is a list of everything that you have used in your assignment. This will be made up of the full details of the sources you have referenced in your assignment and any other sources you may have read but not specifically referenced in your assignment.

This will be arrange in alphabetical order by the author's surname

Example

Bell, J. (2010) Doing your research project. 5th edn. Maidenhead: Open University Press.

Burns, J. (2017) Employers 'unaware' of April apprenticeship plan. Available at: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/education-38956550 (Accessed: 14 February 2017). 

Cook, K.E. and Murowchick, E. (2014) 'Do literature review skills transfer from one course to another?', Psychology Learning and Teaching, 13 (1), pp. 3-11.

Martin, R.P. (2007) 'Ancient theatre and performance culture'. in McDonald, M. and Walton, M. (ed.) The Cambridge Companion to Greek and Roman Theatre. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, pp. 36.54.

Rowling, J.K. (2006) Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. London: Bloomsbury.

Full Reference

Author/Editor (Year) Title of the book in italics. Edition if not a first edition. Place of Publication: Publisher.

Example:

Bell, J. (2010) Doing your research project. 5th edn. Maidenhead: Open University Press.

Full Reference

Author (Year) 'Title of the article', Journal title in italics, Volume (Issue), page reference.

Example

Cook, K.E. and Murowchick, E. (2014) 'Do literature review skills transfer from one course to another?', Psychology Learning and Teaching, 13 (1), pp. 3-11.

Full Reference

Author (Year) Title of webpage in italics. Available at: URL (Accessed: DD Month YYYY)

Example

Burns, J. (2017) Employers 'unaware' of April apprenticeship plan. Available at: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/education-38956550 (Accessed: 14 February 2017). 

If the webpage you are using doesn't have an individual's name you can use the organisation as the author e.g. 

BBC (2017) Employers 'unaware' of April apprenticeship plan. Available at: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/education-38956550 (Accessed: 14 February 2017). 

Full Reference

Author of the chapter/section (Year) 'Title of chapter/section', in plus author/editor of book (ed). Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, pp. 

Example

Martin, R.P. (2007) 'Ancient theatre and performance culture'. in McDonald, M. and Walton, M. (ed.) The Cambridge Companion to Greek and Roman Theatre. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, pp. 36.54.

Full Reference

Author or Organisation (Year) Title of the report. Available at: URL. (Accessed: DD Month Year).

If in print:

Author or Organisation (Year) Title of the report. Place of publication: Publisher.

Example

Bradshaw, J., Middleton, S., Davis, A., Oldfield, N., Smith, N., Cusworth. L. and Williams, J. (2008) A minimum income standard for Britain: what people think. Available at: http://www.jrf.org.uk/sites/files/jrf/2226-income-poverty-standards.pdf. (Accessed: 22 June2016).

Full Reference

Name of person posting video (Year) Title of film/clip/programme. Available at: URL. (Accessed: DD Month Year).

Example

LibraryRHUL (2015) Find what you need - identifying keywords. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2OVoFzbeztE (Accessed: 22 June 2017).

 

Loading ...

Key Points for Citing and Referencing

When you have used an idea from a book, journal article etc., you must acknowledge this in your text and add a reference list or bibliography at the end of your work.

Always check referencing advice given by your department in student handbooks or with lecturers if in doubt, as some conventions may vary. If you do not acknowledge another writer's work or ideas, you could be accused of plagiarism. Accurate referencing can improve your marks! Referencing is commensurate with good academic practice and enhances the presentation of your work.

Books on Referencing