Comprehensive reviews and summaries of recent developments in 32 scientific disciplines, commissioned from authors who are recognized experts in the fields. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Reviews date from the 1930s, although users can view forthcoming reviews in advance.
A collection of six databases bringing together independent reviews of the research evidence on various clinical treatments and interventions, with conclusions on their effectiveness. The home of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The databases included are:
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Methodology Register
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Health Technology Assessment Database
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Cogprints is an electronic archive for self-archiving papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science, Philosophy, Biology and Medicine. It can be browsed by specific subjects.
Environment Digimap provides Land Cover Maps of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology (CEH). The data is available in raster and vector format for a number of different years.
Historical archives of more than 1000 journals relating to humanities and sciences. Content dates from the 19th century through to the late 1990s or early 2000s, although some periodicals date as far back as the late 1600s. Highlights include the feminist magazine "Spare Rib" and a huge range of prestigious engineering and science journals. Click here for a video introduction to Journals Archive
The PSDS is an EPSRC-funded National Research Facility provided by the University of Southampton, and Science and Technology Facilities Council. It replaced the National Chemical Database Service
To use this resource from off campus, you will need to register with the PSDS.
Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) from CCDC
DETHERM from the Dechema
SPRESIweb from InfoChem
Available Chemicals Directory from Accelrys
Inorganic Crystal Structure Database from Fiz Chemie
Chemicalize from ChemAxon
ChemSpider from the RSC
ARChem from SymBioSys
PubMed is the internet version of MEDLINE, an index of articles published in over 4,000 journals on medicine and related fields.This resource provides access to bibliographic information covering medicine in the broadest sense, including biochemistry, genetics, neuroscience and physiology. It contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,000 biomedical journals published in the United States and 80 other countries. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.Records date back to the mid-1950's.
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana . Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community.