Comprehensive reviews and summaries of recent developments in 32 scientific disciplines, commissioned from authors who are recognized experts in the fields. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Reviews date from the 1930s, although users can view forthcoming reviews in advance.
An index of millions of journal articles and books on the life sciences and biomedical research, covering publications from 1969 to 2008. Non-journal coverage also includes coverage of meetings, meeting abstracts, conferences, literature reviews, U.S. patents, books, software, book chapters, notes, letters, and selected reports. Subject areas covered include biology (botany, ecology, zoology), and interdisciplinary subjects (biochemistry, biomedicine, and biotechnology).
Biosis Previews is available through the Web of Science service. To search BIOSIS Previews only, go to the Databases tab, and choose 'BIOSIS'.
A collection of six databases bringing together independent reviews of the research evidence on various clinical treatments and interventions, with conclusions on their effectiveness.
The databases included are:
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Methodology Register
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Health Technology Assessment Database
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Cogprints is an open access repository for papers in cognitive science in its widest sense. It is a source of current work in Psychology, Neuroscience, Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science, Philosophy, Biology and Medicine. It can be browsed by specific subjects.
Environment Digimap provides Land Cover Maps of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology (CEH). The data is available in raster and vector format for a number of different years.
A broad ranging collection of up-to-date articles covering all of the major topics in the field of Quaternary geology. Contains over 360 articles and 2,600 pages, written by a team of leading experts under the guidance of an international editorial board including RHUL staff. The articles are at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with the latest information in the field.
This resources searches the online content of more than 450 journals published by Brill, Institution of Civil Engineers, Institution of Physics, ProQuest, Oxford University Press and the Royal Society of Chemistry.
This Service hosted by the Royal Society of Chemistry offers access to a comprehensive suite of chemical databases and services. Click the Info button for the full list.
Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) from CCDC
DETHERM from the Dechema
SPRESIweb from InfoChem
Available Chemicals Directory from Accelrys
Inorganic Crystal Structure Database from Fiz Chemie
Chemicalize from ChemAxon
ChemSpider from the RSC
ARChem from SymBioSys
PubMed is the internet version of MEDLINE, an index of articles published in over 4,000 journals on medicine and related fields.This resource provides access to bibliographic information covering medicine in the broadest sense, including biochemistry, genetics, neuroscience and physiology. It contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,000 biomedical journals published in the United States and 80 other countries. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.Records date back to the mid-1950's.
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana . Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community.
An index of journal articles and book reviews across a range of subjects, with coverage from 1970. Includes ISI Proceedings , which indexes the papers read at major international conferences, mainly on scientific and technical subjects. How to use Web of Knowledge / Web of Science
An index of almost 15 million journal article and conference proceedings in a range of subjects, including a service to alert you to new issues of your favourite journals."Zetoc provides access to the British Library's table of contents of journal articles and conference proceedings. It enables you to search for information on articles and conference papers published since 1993, and it covers over 20,000 journals" Series of online video tutorials on using Zetoc, and Zetoc alerts