46,600 selected recordings music, spoken word, and human and natural environments from the collections of the British Library's National Sound Archive. Areas of interest include the following collections: accents and dialects, arts, literature and performance recordings, classical music, jazz and popular music, world and traditional music, environment and nature, and oral history.Royal Holloway users are able to search all recordings, listen to and download the recordings.
Over 2000 non-fiction films and television programmes from the 20th to the early 21st century covering aspects of British history including education, industry, health, law and order, the environment and immigration. Many films can be downloaded for educational use.
An online encyclopaedia of British film and television history, including hundreds of clips from the British Film Institute's National Archive as well as recorded interviews with TV and radio personalities. Alongside the clips themselves are contextual material such as posters and press books and information produced by experts in the field.This resource cannot be accessed from outside of the UK. Introductory guides to using the range of BFI Screenonline resources
BoB is a viewing & off-air recording & media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists & share them with others.
Record and watch all BBC TV and radio content dating from 2007 (800,000+ programmes), over 10 foreign language channels, including French, German and Italian, freeview TV and radio within the last 30 days.
Search all the online resources from the British Universities Film and Video Council (BUFVC) in one place. Includes online newsreels, and historical listings on television and radio broadcasts since 1986. This resource searches 13 BUFVC databases, which can be searched separately or as one.
The collections are:
TRILT: The online source for UK television and radio
News on Screen:The online resource for the study of newsfilm.
Find DVD: A guide to audio visual materials for educational use.
Shakespeare: Shakespeare on Film, Television and Radio.
TVTiP: TVTimes listings from 1955 - 1985
This Week: This Week programmes from 1956 - 1992
LBC/IRN: The LBC/IRN Audio
ILR South: The ILR South radio archive
ILR Sharing: The ILR radio archive
Designing Shakespeare has been developed to help students and scholars gain a greater understanding of the work of theatre designers working in Britain during the last forty years of the previous century.
This audio-visual database contains four distinct elements.
A text database of production details and excerpts from theatre reviews which refer to design.
An image database of production photographs.
A collection of video interviews conducted by Dr. Christie Carson with a number of important designers.
A collection of VRML models of the key theatres spaces in Stratford and London where Shakespeare has been performed, developed by theatre designer Chris Dyer.
A gateway giving access to the thousands of freely available text, image and sound resources available from libraries, museums, and archives across the European Union.These objects include: •Images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects•Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers•Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts•Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts
An archive of independent local radio programmes and associated documentation, maintained by the BUFVC.
Three databases are searchable via this resource:
The LBC/IRN Audio Archive, whcih consists of 7,000 reel-to-reel tapes in a collection that runs from 1973 to the mid-1990s. This project contains approximately 4,000 hours of recordings relating to news and current affairs.
The Independent Local Radio Programme Sharing Scheme 1983-1990: The Felicity Wells Memorial Archive, which took place between 1983 and 1990 to share excellent drama, documentaries, features and current affairs between Independent Local Radio stations. There are over 1150 programmes in this collection.
Central Southern England Independent Local Radio 1975 to 1990 Digitisation Project, in which c1300 individual programmes pertaining to culture, politics and local events are collected.
Kanopy is a leading distributor of online educational videos, and Simmons provides access to over 6,000 videos on the Kanopy platform across a wide variety of subject areas, including Humanities, Education, The Arts, Business, Health, Sciences and Media & Communications.
A directory of over 1000 websites about moving images and sound, and their use in higher and further education. The images are divided into 40 subcategories in the subject areas of Arts and Humanities, Bio-Medical, Science and Technology and Social Sciences.Sites which have video or audio streaming are highlighted.
A comprehensive listings service of television and radio broadcasts, covering over 300 UK television and radio stations since 1995, TRILT is a useful tool to identify broadcast audio-visual material to support study and teaching.
A database of the listings in the London Edition of the TVTimes from September 1955 - March 1985. It consists of around 250,000 records in which you can search for programmes, production staff and performers.
The Visual History Archive (VHA) contains over 50,000 digitized interviews. The VHA is a fully streaming video collection of primary source testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide, including the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda (1994), Armenian Genocide (1915-23), European Holocaust (1939-45), Guatemalan Genocide (1978-96), and the Nanjing Massacre (1937). The largest digital collection of its kind in the world, the VHA is an unedited, personal narrative of life before, during, and after the interviewee’s experience with genocide.
Interviewees speak on the following topics:
Rescuers and Aid Providers
Sinti and Roma Survivors
Liberators and Liberation Witnesses
Jehovah's Witness Survivors
War Crimes Trials Participants
Survivors of Eugenics Policies