An online encyclopaedia of British film and television history, including hundreds of clips from the British Film Institute's National Archive as well as recorded interviews with TV and radio personalities. Alongside the clips themselves are contextual material such as posters and press books and information produced by experts in the field.This resource cannot be accessed from outside of the UK. Introductory guides to using the range of BFI Screenonline resources
BoB is a viewing & off-air recording & media archive service which allows you to search for, watch and also record from a list of recorded channels. You can also create clips, search for programmes coming up, create playlists & share them with others.
Record and watch all BBC TV and radio content dating from 2007 (800,000+ programmes), over 10 foreign language channels, including French, German and Italian, freeview TV and radio within the last 30 days.
Search all the online resources from the British Universities Film and Video Council (BUFVC) in one place. Includes online newsreels, and historical listings on television and radio broadcasts since 1986.
This resource searches 13 BUFVC databases, which can be searched separately or as one.
The collections are:
TRILT: The online source for UK television and radio
News on Screen:The online resource for the study of newsfilm.
Find DVD: A guide to audio visual materials for educational use.
Shakespeare: Shakespeare on Film, Television and Radio.
TVTiP: TVTimes listings from 1955 - 1985
This Week: This Week programmes from 1956 - 1992
LBC/IRN: The LBC/IRN Audio
ILR South: The ILR South radio archive
ILR Sharing: The ILR radio archive
Designing Shakespeare has been developed to help students and scholars gain a greater understanding of the work of theatre designers working in Britain during the last forty years of the previous century.
This audio-visual database contains four distinct elements.
A text database of production details and excerpts from theatre reviews which refer to design.
An image database of production photographs.
A collection of video interviews conducted by Dr. Christie Carson with a number of important designers.
A collection of VRML models of the key theatres spaces in Stratford and London where Shakespeare has been performed, developed by theatre designer Chris Dyer.
A gateway giving access to the thousands of freely available text, image and sound resources available from libraries, museums, and archives across the European Union.These objects include: •Images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects•Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers•Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts•Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts
Kanopy is a leading distributor of online educational videos, and Simmons provides access to over 6,000 videos on the Kanopy platform across a wide variety of subject areas, including Humanities, Education, The Arts, Business, Health, Sciences and Media & Communications.
Single search point for all the images and films from the collections of Education Image Gallery, Film and Sound Online, NewsFilm Online plus other services including the Archaeology Data Service (ADS) Image Bank. Quick Guide to using MediaHub
A directory of over 1000 websites about moving images and sound, and their use in higher and further education. The images are divided into 40 subcategories in the subject areas of Arts and Humanities, Bio-Medical, Science and Technology and Social Sciences.Sites which have video or audio streaming are highlighted.
These pages list the titles available in the archive, with links to information for individual productions. They can be accessed by individual researchers by appointment at the Theatre and Performance research facility at Blythe House in Olympia.