Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
A Vision of Britain through Time brings together historical surveys of Britain to create a record of how the country and its localities have changed.

The site was created by Humphrey Southall and the Great Britain Historical GIS Project ("GIS" stands for "Geographical Information System"). They are based in the Department of Geography of the University of Portsmouth. More information about the project, and about historical applications of GIS technology, is available from our other web site at: www.gbhgis.org.
New
Search and access the full text of all current British Standards and many international standards (e.g. ISOs/IECs). See Terms & Conditions for printing and copying.
New
Research by CEPR Research Fellows and Affiliates appears initially in the CEPR Discussion Paper series.
New
COMPENDEX is a huge index/abstract database for engineering and the applied sciences. With over 20 million records from 77 countries, it provides an excellent place to search for relevant, accurate and high quality information for your projects and research.
New
National coverage of high resolution aerial photography.

Aerial Digimap is an EDINA (Edinburgh Data and Information Access) service and you will need to register your details with them. Following this, please read the collection's licence agreement carefully and only accept it if you agree to the terms of use.
New
Download current and past Lidar data from the Environment Agency (EA), Natural Resources Wales (NRW) and Scottish Environmental Protection Agency (SEPA). Lidar data is very useful when creating 3D terrains and models.

Lidar Digimap is an EDINA (Edinburgh Data and Information Access) service and you will need to register your details with them. Following this, please read the collection's licence agreement carefully and only accept it if you agree to the terms of use.
New
A unique archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays.
New
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the pinnacle resource for researchers of film and television, providing the most comprehensive, balanced collection of full-text and bibliographic coverage from scholarly and popular sources, and spanning the entire spectrum of film and television studies.
New
A collection of audio-visual lectures and case studies by leading experts from commerce, industry and academia, in Business and Management.
New
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings.
We have access to the following reports:
United Kingdom Industry Reports (UK SIC)
United States Industry Reports (NAICS)
China Industry Reports
United States Specialized Industry Reports
United Kingdom Business Environment Profiles
United States Business Environment Profiles
New
Kanopy is a leading distributor of online educational videos, and Simmons provides access to over 6,000 videos on the Kanopy platform across a wide variety of subject areas, including Humanities, Education, The Arts, Business, Health, Sciences and Media & Communications.
New
Knovel is a key source of technical information for engineers and scientists.
It provides an interactive platform for e-books and databases and gives fully searchable online access to hundreds of handbooks, data books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and technical reference books.
New
Contains complete facsimile images of 190 manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the celebrated Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds.
New
London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. It is designed for both teaching and study, from undergraduate to research students and beyond.

In addition to the digital documents, London Low Life contains a wealth of secondary resources, including a chronology, interactive maps, essays, online galleries and links to other useful websites.
New
Featuring, amongst other material, original manuscript and typescript papers from the Mass Observation organisation. The archive was developed to create an 'anthropology of ourselves' and study the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain.
New
Audiobook versions of many classic English language novels, plays, and poetry. Including works by Austen, Beckett, Dickens, Melville and Shakespeare.
New
The New Oxford Shakespeare presents an entirely new consideration of all of Shakespeare's works, edited from first principles from the base-texts themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship.
New
Oxford Handbooks in Literature bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in Literature. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer thorough introductions to topics in the discipline.
Full Text
New
Available for the first time online, Oxford’s scholarly editions provide trustworthy, annotated primary texts for scholars and students.
OSEO currently includes writers active between 1485 and 1901, plus Classical Latin authors — from Jane Austen, Jeremy Bentham, Catullus, Dickens, Donne, and Dryden through to Virgil and Wordsworth
New
This resource is produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University. “Perdita” means “lost woman” and the quest of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors who were “lost” because their writing exists only in manuscript form. Thanks to the endeavours of the Perdita Project the valuable work of these “lost” women is being rediscovered.
New
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
New
Contains the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this digital collection offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.
Trial
An accessible and intuitive online platform, Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism brings together a wealth of interdisciplinary content about the Modernist period, and is the ideal starting point for any research in modernism.
New Trial
SAGE Business Cases is an online collection of case studies that help to bring business to life and helps users to develop their own best practices and reach for professional success. By 2018, there will c.2,500 business cases available via this Library subscription.
New
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
New
Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students & researchers to explore & compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition & social justice
New
Statista is a statistics portal that provides data on over 80,000 topics from more than 10,000 different sources including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more.

The content is geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, with a focus on current (not historical) statistics.

Ready made tables are available for download as images to insert into presentations.
New
Victorian Popular Culture is a portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist séances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...