A web-based portal which provides access to authoritative clinical and non-clinical evidence and best practice in health and social care. It is managed by the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE).
More than three million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports on psychology, as well as information on the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, sociology, education, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.Journal coverage dates back to the 1800s.
References to research briefings, government documents, reports, papers, grey literature and book chapters covering all aspects of social care including criminal justice, benefits, mental health, and family care.
The Social Work Toolkit helps students develop the knowledge, core skills and confidence to succeed on their course and placements. Our range of resources, including videos, case studies, book chapters and expert opinion articles are available on or off campus.
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,450 scholarly publications, more than 3,500 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for all 7,888 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present. Help for Academic Search Complete
A collection of six databases bringing together independent reviews of the research evidence on various clinical treatments and interventions, with conclusions on their effectiveness.
The databases included are:
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Methodology Register
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Health Technology Assessment Database
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
PubMed is the internet version of MEDLINE, an index of articles published in over 4,000 journals on medicine and related fields.This resource provides access to bibliographic information covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,000 biomedical journals published in the United States and 80 other countries. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.Records date back to the mid-1950's.
An index of journal articles and book reviews across a range of subjects, with coverage from 1970. Includes ISI Proceedings , which indexes the papers read at major international conferences, mainly on scientific and technical subjects. How to use Web of Knowledge / Web of Science
You can set Google Scholar to search both Royal Holloway and Senate House. How to guide.