Skip to main content

Drama, Theatre and Dance

Archives

Royal Holloway Archives and Special Collections holds the institutional records of the College and their Special Collections and Rare Books. The Archives Service is located on the lower-ground floor of the Emily Wilding Davison building.

The consultation of archival material is by appointment only, and appointments are available between 9.30am-1pm and 2pm-4.30pm Wednesday to Friday.

To make an appointment or find out more about the collections, please contact the Archives Service by emailing archives@rhul.ac.uk or calling 01784 443814.

Royal Holloway Archives

The Royal Holloway Archvies and Special Collections are part of the Library Servces and are located in Founder's Library. We hold many records relating to the history of Royal Holloway College, Bedford College, Royal Holloway and Bedford New College. 

As well as this material we also hold special collections donated to the college, including material from drama and theatre companies. 

A.V.Coton (pen name of Edward Haddakin) - Items collected during Haddakin's career as an eminent ballet and dance critic, 1936-1968. The collection ws donated to the college by his wife. You can find more information here www./personal.rhul.ac.uk/uhyl/007/coton

Gay Sweatshop Theatre Company (GS) - This controversial and successful company spanned the years of 1974-1996. Included in this collection is administrative, financial and production records, including photographs, posters and programmes.

Half Moon Theatre Company (HMT) - A very influential, left wing London theatre company that spanned the years of 1972-1900. This collection includes adminisitrative, financial and production records, including material relating to the building of the new theatre. You can also find out more about this company at this website http://www.stagesofhalfmoon.org.uk/

RedShift Theatre Company (RSTC) - Administrative and financial papers, personal papers of the Company's director, Jonathon Holloway. Also includes production records, tour and venue information audiovisual recordings of productions, promotional material, press cuttings, reviews and photographs. This collection spans the years of 1982-2007.

Roy Waters (RW) - Teacher and school inspector, collector of theatrical ephemera. Items include playbills and posters, autograph letters, programmes, postcards, toy theatre sheets and artefacts. 

 

 

Theatre Archives and Special Collections

You may want to look up historical manuscripts, pamphlets, images, or recordings. These resources are a good place to start looking - some are available online, but others can be viewed by appointment only.